Scott County Board of Supervisors January 2, 2020 8:00 a.m.

The Board of Supervisors met pursuant to adjournment with Beck, Croken, Kinzer, Knobbe and Maxwell present. Auditor Roxanna Moritz presided as temporary chair. The Board recited the pledge of allegiance.

Moritz requested nominations for Chair of the Board of Supervisors. Beck moved and Maxwell seconded a motion nominating Tony Knobbe to serve as Chair. Kinzer moved and Croken seconded a motion nominating Ken Croken to serve as Chair. Roll Call: Beck, Knobbe and Maxwell voted Aye on the Knobbe nomination. Croken and Kinzer voted Nay.

Following his election, Supervisor Knobbe presided as permanent Chair.

Knobbe requested nominations for Vice-Chair of the Board of Supervisors. Maxwell moved and Knobbe seconded a motion nominating Ken Beck as Vice-Chair. Kinzer moved and Croken seconded a motion nominating Ken Croken to serve as Vice-Chair. Roll Call: Beck, Knobbe and Maxwell voted Aye on the Beck nomination. Croken and Kinzer voted Nay.

Moved by Beck, seconded by Croken that the following resolution be approved. All Ayes.

BE IT RESOLVED: 1) That the following appointments for a term beginning January 2, 2020 and ending December 31, 2020 are hereby approved:

Supervisor Ken Beck Supervisor Brinson Kinzer Supervisor Ken Croken

County Administrator Mahesh Sharma

Supervisor John Maxwell Supervisor John Maxwell Supervisor Tony Knobbe Supervisor Brinson Kinzer Supervisor Ken Beck Supervisor John Maxwell Supervisor Tony Knobbe Supervisor Brinson Kinzer Supervisor Brinson Kinzer

Supervisor Tony Knobbe Supervisor Ken Beck Supervisor Ken Croken Supervisor Ken Beck

City/School/County

Emergency Management Commission IRVM Planning & Steering Committee

Live Lead Free Quad Cities Lower Cedar Watershed

MH/DS Governing Board of Directors

Region 9 Transportation Policy RIA Development Group

Scott County REAP

Scott County Watershed Cabinet

Seventh Judicial District Court Services Board Supervisor Ken Croken

Urban County Coalition

Urban Transportation Policy Waste Management Commission of

Scott County

Workforce Development/ Region 9 Elected Official Board

Supervisor Brinson Kinzer

2) This resolution shall take effect immediately.

Scott County Auditor

Moved by Knobbe, seconded by Beck approval of the following committee chair appointments. All Ayes.

Facilities and Economic Development – Supervisor Beck Human Resources – Supervisor Kinzer Health & Community Services – Supervisor Croken Finance & Intergovernmental – Supervisor Maxwell

Moved by Beck, seconded by Maxwell that the following resolution be approved. All Ayes.

BE IT RESOLVED: 1) That the North Scott Press, and the Quad City Times, are hereby appointed as Scott County official newspapers for a one year period ending on December 31, 2020 subject to meeting all requirements as stated in the Iowa Code. 2) That the newspapers do not charge more than what is set by the Iowa Department of Administrative Services in accordance with Section 618.11 of the Code of Iowa. 3) This resolution shall take effect immediately.

Supervisor Kinzer discussed a letter received from the Corrections Officer Sergeants looking to organize and said he would like to ask the topic be placed on the agenda for discussion during the next board cycle.

Moved by Beck, seconded by Maxwell at 8:14 a.m. a motion to adjourn. All Ayes.

Tony Knobbe, Chair of the Board Scott County Board of Supervisors